Call us On 1300 982 951
Call us On 1300 982 951


Alana Chrisomalidis

Alana Chrisomalidis
education of employee


  • Bachelor of Nursing / Bachelor of Midwifery 2019
experience of employee


I began my career at a large tertiary hospital for women. The years I spent there allowed me to work across a range of different settings and experience all the twists and turns of midwifery in our public hospital system. I love that I was able to serve my community there and support and empower the families while they navigated a fragmented maternity system. I also spent lots of time working with women who experienced complex pregnancies or looking after premature bubs. During this time, I began working as a Childbirth Educator in an effort to promote informed decision-making.

In 2021, I made the move to My Midwives. I am so fortunate to have learned from some of the most skilled, empathetic and autonomous midwives in Australia. In this same year, I completed my postgraduate studies in Prescribing for Midwives, began practice in the home-birth space as well as continuing to work in the hospital. I am now an “endorsed midwife” and am able to practice privately in two of the biggest hospitals in Melbourne. For me, the beauty of practicing privately is the ability to provide individualised, evidenced based and nurturing care for families.

midwifery interest of employee

Midwifery Interest

Like all midwives, I am fiercely passionate about partnering with women and birthing people while they navigate their journey to parenthood. I believe all families deserve access to one-to-one Midwifery care. This is not because it is “nice” as I have heard some say, but because the evidence tells us time and time again that care from a known midwife improves outcomes, experience and… literally saves lives. To me - caring for women I know and develop trust with is a mutually beneficial partnership and, frankly, a bit of a no brainer.

On top of this, I also love using water-immersion in labour. It’s truly amazing how grounding and supportive something so simple can be.

other interest of of employee

Personal Interest

I recently learned the term “extreme-balance” and I think it describes me perfectly. I love long and challenging hikes, double shot cappuccinos and energetic days out at the beach with my dog, Huxley (a Kelpie). The balance comes in, however, on a Sunday afternoon where you’ll find me ordering takeaway and not moving from the couch all day.